• AnnaPrince
    Hi

I could really do with some advice on a situation at work which has just arisen. There's a lot of info to get across so thought it best to bullet point it:

- I have been working for the same company for 5 years and 7 months. It's a sales based business and I am their group marketing manager. I live close to one of the 3 branches in the group (10 min drive) so this is the branch I am based in with monthly visits to the other two branches. One is an hour from my home, the other is 2 hours from my home.
    - I work 4 days per week (monday to thursday) 9.30am until 4.30pm
    - I am due to go on maternity leave next Thursday (21st June) baby due by c-section w/c 9th July
    - Last Thursday it was announced that the branch I work out of has been sold to two of the existing employees. They have retained all staff accept from me. I was told (by the people buying the branch and not the group I work for) that my job was remaining with the group. I asked how it would impact me regarding where I would work etc and they obviously didn't know.
    - A week on and I have finally managed to have a meeting with a group director to ask how the buy out will impact on my job. I have been told that when I return from maternity leave I will be expected to work out of the branch which is 2 hours from my home. I would be expected to work the same hours and the same days. My job can easily be done remotely so I have asked if I can work from home for 3 days and work at the branch one day a week (still not entirely happy with that, but it felt like a compromise). They have said that they will consider it over the weekend, but are unlikely to agree.
    - I will be paid SMP for my maternity, I have a company car which I will keep during that time and a company lap top.

My question is what are my options in this scenario and where do I stand legally? The travel costs, childcare costs and additional time away from my family is going to cripple us.